Western Colombia Earthquake
A magnitude-7.4 earthquake struck western Colombia on 10 August 2026, with its epicenter in San José del Palmar, Chocó. As of 13 August 2026, OCHA reported 266 deaths and Caracol Radio reported 265 deaths on 12 August 2026; OCHA reported 3,771 injured and IOM reported 3,824 injured. A reported figure of more than 45,000 destroyed homes is disputed. Before the earthquake, more than 1.2 million people in Chocó and Valle del Cauca needed humanitarian assistance (ReliefWeb, HCN Times; exact date of estimate not specified). More than 300,000 children face heightened protection risks, including possible recruitment by armed groups, as schooling and livelihoods are disrupted (ReliefWeb, We-News, HCN Times; date of estimate not specified). The International Rescue Committee and local partners launched a response involving health or mental-health, education, and protection programming.
Metrics
7.4 magnitude; epicenter San José del Palmar, Chocó — Earthquake magnitude and epicenter
Caveat: Confirmed by OCHA, IOM, and BBC; date 10 Aug 2026. Does not cover aftershocks.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026; bbc.com — Early BBC Mundo report on the 7.4 Colombia earthquake
266 (OCHA, 13 Aug 2026); 265 (Caracol Radio, 12 Aug 2026) — Reported deaths
Caveat: Both figures confirmed as of their stated dates; more than 250 total. Does not include later updates.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; caracol.com.co — Caracol Radio: Defensoría Demands Humanitarian Truce from Armed Groups
3,771 (OCHA); 3,824 (IOM) — Reported injuries
Caveat: Both as of 13 Aug 2026; more than 3,500 total. Figures differ; does not include later updates.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026
more than 45,000 — Homes destroyed
Caveat: Disputed; reported by OCHA, EFE, and IOM, but no single confirmed figure. No unified as-of date assigned.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; efe.com — EFE: President lowers earthquake death toll to 289; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026
2 departments (Chocó, Valle del Cauca) — Most affected departments
Caveat: Confirmed among most affected; not an exhaustive list of all affected areas.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026
The Earthquake in Western Colombia: Casualties, Pre-existing Need, and a Response for Children
The 10 August 2026 rupture and first casualty counts
A magnitude-7.4 earthquake struck western Colombia on August 10, 2026, with its epicenter in San José del Palmar, Chocó.
As of August 13, 2026, the earthquake had killed more than 250 people. OCHA reported 266 deaths, while Caracol Radio reported 265 deaths on August 12.
Reported figures from Colombia's National Unit for Disaster Risk Management (UNGRD), as reported on 19 October 2026, put the number of people affected at more than 486,917 and families affected at 303,934; the reported death toll was 335, with thousands injured and some people still missing. Chocó, Valle del Cauca, Caldas, and Risaralda were reported as the most heavily affected departments.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026; bbc.com — Early BBC Mundo report on the 7.4 Colombia earthquake; caracol.com.co — Caracol Radio: Defensoría Demands Humanitarian Truce from Armed Groups
Injury counts
As of August 13, 2026, more than 3,500 people had been injured. OCHA reported 3,771 injured, and IOM reported 3,824 injured.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026
A region already in need
The earthquake affected Chocó and Valle del Cauca, among the most affected departments.
Before the earthquake, more than 1.2 million people in Chocó and Valle del Cauca needed humanitarian assistance, representing more than 20% of the population there, according to ReliefWeb and HCN Times. The exact date of the estimate is not specified.
According to the 21 August 2026 Humanitarian Country Team and UN OCHA press release, a magnitude-7.4 earthquake affected 15 departments and approximately 470 municipalities, primarily Chocó, Valle del Cauca, Risaralda, and Caldas.
Colombia's Humanitarian Country Team announced an addendum to the 2026 Humanitarian Needs and Response Plan on 21 August 2026, according to the same release. The release reports that Colombia's pre-existing humanitarian situation affected 6.9 million people, and that 1.2 million people developed new humanitarian assistance needs as a direct result of the earthquake emergency. The earthquake increased the vulnerability of millions of people in Colombia, according to the release. The addendum aims to mobilize resources to save lives and support people with the most acute needs, according to the release.
WFP's brief dated 23 October 2026 estimated that the 10 August 2026 earthquake affected approximately 466,606 people across 15 departments. According to the brief, preliminary assessments found that the earthquake disrupted livelihoods, local markets and essential services, increasing food-security risks and humanitarian needs related to shelter, early recovery and food assistance.
The same WFP brief dated 23 October 2026 reported that WFP assisted approximately 423,427 people in Colombia from January to July 2026 through food assistance and cash-based transfers. WFP also reported in that brief that 37 percent of households in Colombia's 15 most vulnerable departments, equivalent to approximately 7 million people, experienced moderate or severe food insecurity, and that national food insecurity remained around 25 percent, with Atlántico, Sucre and La Guajira having the highest prevalence of severe food insecurity, according to WFP's joint food-security assessment.
WFP's brief dated 23 October 2026 described Colombia's humanitarian and food-security crisis as compounded by persistent violence, forced displacement, non-state armed groups, mixed migration, natural hazards and economic shocks.
A UNHCR report published on 19 October 2026 says that, two months after the earthquake, the response had shifted from emergency operations toward early recovery. UNHCR reported approximately 315,000 refugees were hosted in affected municipalities, including about 202,000 in Valle del Cauca. UNHCR reported that more than 1.1 million Afro-descendant people and 214,000 Indigenous people lived in the affected areas and faced heightened protection risks, including family separation, gender-based violence, loss of documentation, confinement, recruitment, and displacement.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026
More than 300,000 children face heightened protection risks
More than 300,000 children face heightened protection risks, including possible recruitment by armed groups, as schooling and livelihoods are disrupted, according to ReliefWeb, We-News, and HCN Times. The date of the estimate is not specified.
Sources: eltiempo.com — UNICEF warns 796 schools in Chocó and Buenaventura at risk after earthquake; defensoria.gov.co — Defensoría and EU examine forced recruitment and child protection crisis in Chocó
The IRC and local partners: health, education, and protection programming
The International Rescue Committee and local partners launched a response involving health or mental-health, education, and protection programming and information about available services.
Sources: rescue.org — IRC response launch as Colombia earthquake death toll rises; rescue.org — IRC framing: 7.4 quake hits Chocó, already strained by conflict and poverty
WASH needs and service gaps
WASH SITREP 2, dated 22 October 2026, said that 29 humanitarian organizations reported WASH assistance in 52 municipalities across Valle del Cauca, Chocó, Risaralda, Caldas, and Quindío, covering approximately 166,000 attendance records. The reports identify persistent WASH needs and service gaps in territories with pre-existing structural vulnerabilities.
A preliminary PAHO situation report dated 10 August 2026 recorded 126 fatalities, 1,494 injuries, and 28 affected health facilities. These are preliminary figures, not final totals.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026
Claims and evidence
A magnitude-7.4 earthquake struck western Colombia on August 10, 2026, with epicenter in San José del Palmar, Chocó.
Claimant: OCHA, IOM, and BBC reporting official seismic data
Evidence status: confirmed
Counterclaim: None in verified record.
Independent assessment: Confirmed by multiple independent sources.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026; bbc.com — Early BBC Mundo report on the 7.4 Colombia earthquake
As of August 13, 2026, the earthquake had killed more than 250 people; OCHA reported 266 deaths, while Caracol Radio reported 265 deaths on August 12.
Claimant: OCHA and Caracol Radio
Evidence status: confirmed
Counterclaim: Figures differ by one death; no direct dispute stated.
Independent assessment: Both figures confirmed as of their respective dates.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; caracol.com.co — Caracol Radio: Defensoría Demands Humanitarian Truce from Armed Groups
As of August 13, 2026, more than 3,500 people had been injured; OCHA reported 3,771 injured and IOM reported 3,824 injured.
Claimant: OCHA and IOM
Evidence status: confirmed
Counterclaim: Figures differ; no direct dispute stated.
Independent assessment: Both figures confirmed as of 13 Aug 2026.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026
More than 45,000 homes had been destroyed.
Claimant: OCHA, EFE, and IOM
Evidence status: disputed
Counterclaim: No single confirmed figure; status remains disputed.
Independent assessment: Disputed; no unified confirmed number across sources.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; efe.com — EFE: President lowers earthquake death toll to 289; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026
Timeline
— Magnitude-7.4 earthquake strikes western Colombia
A magnitude-7.4 earthquake struck western Colombia on August 10, 2026, with its epicenter in San José del Palmar, Chocó, according to OCHA, IOM and BBC.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026; bbc.com — Early BBC Mundo report on the 7.4 Colombia earthquake
— Caracol Radio reports 265 deaths
On August 12, 2026, Caracol Radio reported 265 deaths from the earthquake.
Sources: caracol.com.co — Caracol Radio: Defensoría Demands Humanitarian Truce from Armed Groups
— OCHA and IOM update casualty figures
As of August 13, 2026, OCHA reported 266 deaths and 3,771 injured; IOM reported 3,824 injured.
Sources: unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026
— HCT reports HNRP addendum announcement
According to the 21 August 2026 HCT/UN OCHA press release, Colombia's Humanitarian Country Team announced an addendum to the 2026 Humanitarian Needs and Response Plan. The same release reports that a magnitude-7.4 earthquake affected 15 departments and approximately 470 municipalities, Colombia's pre-existing humanitarian situation affected 6.9 million people, and 1.2 million people developed new humanitarian assistance needs as a direct result of the earthquake emergency.
Sources: ReliefWeb (OCHA) — ReliefWeb reports ingested by editorial pipeline (2026-08)
— WFP brief dated 23 October 2026 estimates 466,606 people affected by earthquake
According to WFP's brief dated 23 October 2026, the 10 August 2026 earthquake affected an estimated 466,606 people across 15 departments. WFP said preliminary assessments found disruptions to livelihoods, local markets and essential services, increasing food-security risks and humanitarian needs.
Sources: ReliefWeb (OCHA) — ReliefWeb reports ingested by editorial pipeline (2026-10)
— WASH SITREP 2 reports 29 organizations and approximately 166,000 attendance records
According to WASH SITREP 2 dated 22 October 2026, 29 humanitarian organizations reported WASH assistance in 52 municipalities across Valle del Cauca, Chocó, Risaralda, Caldas, and Quindío, covering approximately 166,000 attendance records. The report also identifies persistent WASH needs and service gaps in territories with pre-existing structural vulnerabilities.
Sources: ReliefWeb (OCHA) — ReliefWeb reports ingested by editorial pipeline (2026-10)
— Preliminary PAHO report records 126 fatalities and 1,494 injuries
A preliminary PAHO situation report dated 10 August 2026 recorded 126 fatalities, 1,494 injuries, and 28 affected health facilities; these figures are preliminary and not final totals.
Sources: ReliefWeb (OCHA) — ReliefWeb reports ingested by editorial pipeline (2026-10)
— UNGRD reports updated earthquake casualty and affected figures
According to UNGRD, as reported on 19 October 2026, the earthquake had affected more than 486,917 people and 303,934 families; 335 people died, thousands were injured, and some people remained missing. Chocó, Valle del Cauca, Caldas, and Risaralda were reported as the most heavily affected departments.
Sources: ReliefWeb (OCHA) — ReliefWeb reports ingested by editorial pipeline (2026-10)
— UNHCR reports shift to early recovery and protection risks
A UNHCR report published on 19 October 2026 said the response had shifted from emergency operations toward early recovery. UNHCR reported approximately 315,000 refugees were hosted in affected municipalities, including about 202,000 in Valle del Cauca; the report also said more than 1.1 million Afro-descendant people and 214,000 Indigenous people faced heightened protection risks.
Sources: ReliefWeb (OCHA) — ReliefWeb reports ingested by editorial pipeline (2026-10)
Open questions
- How many people did the earthquake kill and injure? As of 13 August 2026 OCHA counted 266 dead and 3,771 injured, while IOM counted 3,824 injured.
- Were more than 45,000 homes destroyed? OCHA, EFE and IOM report the figure, but it is disputed and has no single confirmed count.
- When was the estimate of more than 1.2 million people in need in Chocó and Valle del Cauca made, and how has the earthquake changed it?
- Does the figure of more than 300,000 children at heightened protection risk predate the earthquake, and how has it changed since?
Source registry
- unocha.org — OCHA Flash Update 005: Colombia Earthquake Impact, 13 August 2026; humanitarian; date not supplied
- elespectador.com — El Espectador: Government Declares National Disaster Situation; news; date not supplied
- caracol.com.co — Caracol Radio: Defensoría Demands Humanitarian Truce from Armed Groups; human_rights; date not supplied
- elespectador.com — El Espectador: Defensoría Says Quibdó Shelter Is Precarious; human_rights; date not supplied
- rescue.org — IRC response launch as Colombia earthquake death toll rises; humanitarian; date not supplied
- rescue.org — IRC framing: 7.4 quake hits Chocó, already strained by conflict and poverty; humanitarian; date not supplied
- defensoria.gov.co — Defensoría and EU examine forced recruitment and child protection crisis in Chocó; human_rights; date not supplied
- www2.sgc.gov.co — Colombian Geological Survey bulletin: important earthquakes; primary_document; date not supplied
- bbc.com — Early BBC Mundo report on the 7.4 Colombia earthquake; news; date not supplied
- efe.com — EFE: President lowers earthquake death toll to 289; news; date not supplied
- eltiempo.com — El Tiempo: UNGRD official balance for 16 August; news; date not supplied
- revistas.sgc.gov.co — SGC Boletín Geológico on macroseismic intensity in Colombia; research; date not supplied
- crisisresponse.iom.int — IOM Situation Report #2: Colombia Earthquake Response, 13 August 2026; humanitarian; date not supplied
- cnnespanol.cnn.com — Satellite images show before and after the Colombia earthquake; media_archive; date not supplied
- eltiempo.com — UNICEF warns 796 schools in Chocó and Buenaventura at risk after earthquake; news; date not supplied