Hebron Military Operation
On 23 October 2026, two Palestinian gunmen killed two Israeli soldiers at a checkpoint near Hebron; Netanyahu ordered Hebron and Halhul sealed off. Israeli forces then ordered evacuations and began demolitions. At least around 2,000 Palestinians have been forcibly displaced since 23 October. A disputed count puts the figure above 3,000 by 26 October. According to OCHA, aid partners were supporting more than 3,000 evacuated people as of that date. B'Tselem said the measures amount to collective punishment and possible war crimes, and MAP reportedly warned of ethnic cleansing.
Metrics
2 killed — Israeli soldiers killed in Hebron checkpoint attack
Caveat: Per news.un.org and theguardian.com, estimate as of 2026-10-23; figure does not include the three soldiers wounded or the two gunmen killed.
Sources: news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing
3 wounded — Israeli soldiers wounded in Hebron checkpoint attack
Caveat: Per news.un.org and theguardian.com, estimate as of 2026-10-23; figure does not include killed soldiers or gunmen casualties.
Sources: news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing
at least around 2,000 — Palestinians forcibly displaced from Hebron since 2026-10-23
Caveat: Per the cited sources, cumulative since 2026-10-23; estimate date not specified; does not cover the disputed more-than-3,000 count or OCHA's aid-partner figure.
Sources: reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; aljazeera.com — Al Jazeera field report on movement restrictions and gates in Hebron's H2 area; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing
more than 3,000 (disputed) — Palestinians forcibly displaced in Hebron by 2026-10-26
Caveat: Per reliefweb.int, map.org.uk, news.un.org and theguardian.com, as of 2026-10-26; disputed figure; not reconciled with the at-least-around-2,000 minimum or OCHA's aid-partner figure.
Sources: reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; map.org.uk — MAP statement: mass displacement in Hebron raises alarm over ethnic cleansing; news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing
more than 33,000 — Palestinians displaced by earlier Iron Wall operation in Jenin, Tulkarem and Nur Shams
Caveat: Per reliefweb.int, aa.com.tr and aljazeera.com; the sources do not specify the date of this estimate; figure covers earlier northern West Bank camps, not Hebron.
Sources: reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; aa.com.tr — Anadolu Agency: B'Tselem says Hebron measures are collective punishment; aljazeera.com — Al Jazeera field report on movement restrictions and gates in Hebron's H2 area
85 detained — Palestinians detained in Hebron Governorate since start of operation
Caveat: According to the Palestinian Prisoner's Society via english.wafa.ps, as of 2026-10-26; likely figure, not independently confirmed, and does not cover all possible detentions.
Sources: english.wafa.ps — WAFA: tightened Israeli measures in Hebron and nearly 4,000 displaced
Hebron, After the Checkpoint: Forced Displacement and Demolitions
The checkpoint attack and Netanyahu's sealing orders
On 23 October 2026, two Palestinian gunmen opened fire at an Israeli military checkpoint near Hebron, killing two Israeli soldiers and wounding three others; both gunmen were killed.
Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu ordered Hebron and neighbouring Halhul sealed off. He pledged to evacuate residents of the attackers' neighbourhood, go house-to-house, seize weapons and destroy 'terrorist infrastructure'.
Netanyahu also said a very broad IDF operation in the West Bank, on a scale not seen since the Six-Day War, was 'on the way'.
Sources: gov.il — Netanyahu's Hebron remarks: sealing, evacuation and the camp model; news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing
Evacuation orders: Ein Deir Bahha, al-Jalda and Khillet al-Maghribeh
Starting on the night of 23-24 October 2026, Israeli forces ordered residents of the Ein Deir Bahha and al-Jalda neighbourhoods to leave their homes; Khillet al-Maghribeh is also named in reporting.
Sources: reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; marsad.app — Marsad: Israeli raids in Hebron displace about 1,200, Palestinian official says
Demolitions in Farsh al-Hawa
Israeli forces demolished buildings and commercial and industrial facilities in the Farsh al-Hawa area of Hebron, beginning on 23 October 2026.
Sources: aljazeera.com — Al Jazeera field report on movement restrictions and gates in Hebron's H2 area; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing; bbc.com — BBC Arabic: families displaced and homes demolished in Hebron during Israeli operation
The announced model: house-to-house searches, weapons seizures and infrastructure destruction
Netanyahu and Defence Minister Israel Katz said the Hebron operation would replicate the model used in the northern West Bank refugee camps, including Jenin and Tulkarm.
The earlier 'Iron Wall' operation in the Jenin, Tulkarem and Nur Shams refugee camps displaced more than 33,000 Palestinians; the estimate date is not specified in the sources.
Announced measures include going house-to-house, seizing weapons and destroying 'terrorist infrastructure'.
Sources: gov.il — Netanyahu's Hebron remarks: sealing, evacuation and the camp model; reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; aa.com.tr — Anadolu Agency: B'Tselem says Hebron measures are collective punishment; aljazeera.com — Al Jazeera field report on movement restrictions and gates in Hebron's H2 area
Counting the displaced: 2,000, 3,000 and the OCHA aid figure
Since 23 October 2026, thousands of Palestinians (at least around 2,000) have been forcibly displaced from their homes in Hebron.
Some reporting cites more than 3,000 Palestinians forcibly displaced by 26 October; that higher figure is disputed and sits alongside the lower 'at least around 2,000' count used in other reporting.
According to OCHA, aid partners were supporting local authorities in Hebron to meet the needs of more than 3,000 people evacuated by Israeli forces, as of 26 October.
Sources: reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; aljazeera.com — Al Jazeera field report on movement restrictions and gates in Hebron's H2 area; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing; map.org.uk — MAP statement: mass displacement in Hebron raises alarm over ethnic cleansing; nn.najah.edu — Hebron Governor Reports More Than 3,000 Displaced by Israeli Operation
Warnings of collective punishment and ethnic cleansing
Israeli rights group B'Tselem said the planned and ongoing Hebron measures amount to collective punishment and possible war crimes; it described them as an extension of 'ethnic cleansing'.
Medical Aid for Palestinians (MAP) has reportedly warned that Israel's actions in Hebron raise grave concerns about ethnic cleansing and collective punishment, with communities cut off from healthcare and essential supplies.
On 26 October 2026, UN human rights chief Volker Türk warned that the Hebron operation raises serious concerns of ethnic cleansing, according to UN News.
According to Hebron Municipality, 483 families (4,304 people, including 1,845 children) were displaced as of 29 October 2026. Reports suggest more than 300 displaced families lacked access to safe shelter on the same date.
According to the UNICEF update published 30 October 2026, education disruptions affect more than 251,000 students across 691 schools in Hebron Governorate. UNICEF reports it is responding through its Rapid Response Mechanism and has mobilized additional supplies; UNICEF warns of risks to children from prolonged displacement, restricted humanitarian access and the approaching colder season.
Sources: aljazeera.com — Al Jazeera field report on movement restrictions and gates in Hebron's H2 area; aa.com.tr — Anadolu Agency: B'Tselem says Hebron measures are collective punishment; reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; map.org.uk — MAP statement: mass displacement in Hebron raises alarm over ethnic cleansing; news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing
Claims and evidence
On 2026-10-23, two Palestinian gunmen opened fire at an Israeli military checkpoint near Hebron, killed two Israeli soldiers and wounded three others; both gunmen were killed.
Claimant: News reports and official accounts, including UN News and The Guardian
Evidence status: confirmed
Counterclaim: No counter-position recorded in the verified claims.
Independent assessment: Multiple independent news sources confirm the event.
Sources: news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing
Netanyahu and Defence Minister Israel Katz said the Hebron operation would replicate the model used in the northern West Bank refugee camps, including Jenin and Tulkarm.
Claimant: Benjamin Netanyahu and Israel Katz, via gov.il
Evidence status: confirmed
Counterclaim: No counter-position recorded in the verified claims.
Independent assessment: Confirmed that the officials made the statement; no independent documentation of replication is included in the verified claims.
Sources: gov.il — Netanyahu's Hebron remarks: sealing, evacuation and the camp model; reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron
Netanyahu said a very broad IDF operation in the West Bank, on a scale not seen since the Six-Day War, was on the way.
Claimant: Benjamin Netanyahu, via gov.il
Evidence status: confirmed
Counterclaim: No counter-position recorded in the verified claims.
Independent assessment: Confirmed as a statement by the Prime Minister; no independent assessment establishes that the scale matches the Six-Day War.
Sources: gov.il — Netanyahu's Hebron remarks: sealing, evacuation and the camp model; palestine.un.org — UN in Palestine: Guterres alarmed by sweeping closures after Hebron attack
More than 3,000 Palestinians had been forcibly displaced in Hebron by 2026-10-26.
Claimant: MAP, UN News, ReliefWeb and The Guardian
Evidence status: disputed
Counterclaim: No counter-position recorded in the verified claims.
Independent assessment: The 3,000-plus figure is disputed; OCHA separately says aid partners are supporting more than 3,000 evacuated people, but the total displacement count varies.
Sources: reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; map.org.uk — MAP statement: mass displacement in Hebron raises alarm over ethnic cleansing; news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing
Medical Aid for Palestinians (MAP) warned that Israel's actions in Hebron raise grave concerns about ethnic cleansing and collective punishment, with communities cut off from healthcare and essential supplies.
Claimant: Medical Aid for Palestinians
Evidence status: likely
Counterclaim: No counter-position recorded in the verified claims.
Independent assessment: MAP's warning is an attributed advocacy assessment; no independent legal finding is present in the registry.
Sources: map.org.uk — MAP statement: mass displacement in Hebron raises alarm over ethnic cleansing; reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron
On 2026-10-26, UN human rights chief Volker Türk warned that the Hebron operation raises serious concerns of ethnic cleansing.
Claimant: Volker Türk, via UN News
Evidence status: likely
Counterclaim: No counter-position recorded in the verified claims.
Independent assessment: Attributed to UN News; the statement is by the UN human rights chief, not an independent legal determination.
Sources: news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing
Israeli rights group B'Tselem said the planned and ongoing Hebron measures amount to collective punishment and possible war crimes, and described them as an extension of ethnic cleansing.
Claimant: B'Tselem
Evidence status: confirmed
Counterclaim: No counter-position recorded in the verified claims.
Independent assessment: B'Tselem's statement is confirmed as made; no independent legal assessment is recorded.
Sources: aa.com.tr — Anadolu Agency: B'Tselem says Hebron measures are collective punishment; aljazeera.com — Al Jazeera field report on movement restrictions and gates in Hebron's H2 area
Timeline
— Two Israeli soldiers killed in checkpoint attack near Hebron
On 2026-10-23, two Palestinian gunmen opened fire at an Israeli military checkpoint near Hebron, killing two Israeli soldiers and wounding three others; both gunmen were killed, according to UN News and The Guardian.
Sources: news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing
— Israeli forces order residents of Hebron neighbourhoods to leave homes
Starting on the night of 2026-10-23/24, Israeli forces ordered residents of the Ein Deir Bahha and al-Jalda neighbourhoods and Khillet al-Maghribeh to leave their homes, according to ReliefWeb and Marsad.
Sources: reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; marsad.app — Marsad: Israeli raids in Hebron displace about 1,200, Palestinian official says
— Israeli forces demolish buildings in Farsh al-Hawa area of Hebron
Beginning on 2026-10-23, Israeli forces demolished buildings and commercial/industrial facilities in the Farsh al-Hawa area of Hebron, as reported by Al Jazeera, The Guardian and BBC News.
Sources: aljazeera.com — Al Jazeera field report on movement restrictions and gates in Hebron's H2 area; theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing; bbc.com — BBC Arabic: families displaced and homes demolished in Hebron during Israeli operation
— UN human rights chief warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing
On 2026-10-26, UN human rights chief Volker Türk warned that the Hebron operation raises serious concerns of ethnic cleansing, according to UN News.
Sources: news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing
— Hebron escalation reportedly began on 23 October
An escalation in Hebron reportedly began on 23 October, leading to large-scale displacement, movement restrictions and disruption of essential services.
Sources: ReliefWeb (OCHA) — ReliefWeb reports ingested by editorial pipeline (2026-11)
— Hebron Municipality reports 483 families displaced; safe-shelter gaps reported
According to Hebron Municipality, 483 families (4,304 people, including 1,845 children) were displaced as of 29 October. Reports suggest more than 300 displaced families lacked access to safe shelter on the same date.
Sources: ReliefWeb (OCHA) — ReliefWeb reports ingested by editorial pipeline (2026-11)
— UNICEF update reports education disruptions and response
According to the UNICEF update published 30 October, education disruptions affect more than 251,000 students across 691 schools in Hebron Governorate. UNICEF reports it is responding through its Rapid Response Mechanism and has mobilized additional supplies; UNICEF warns of risks to children from prolonged displacement, restricted humanitarian access and the approaching colder season.
Sources: ReliefWeb (OCHA) — ReliefWeb reports ingested by editorial pipeline (2026-11)
Open questions
- How many Palestinians have been displaced in Hebron? At least around 2,000 is confirmed; the count of more than 3,000 by 26 October is disputed; OCHA's aid partners separately report more than 3,000 people evacuated.
- Will the announced house-to-house searches, weapons seizures and infrastructure destruction be carried out, and will independent observers report on them?
- How many Palestinians have been detained in Hebron Governorate since the operation began? The Palestinian Prisoner's Society counted 85 as of 26 October; the figure is not independently confirmed.
- Have movement restrictions extended beyond the announced sealing of Hebron and Halhul?
- When was the figure of more than 33,000 people displaced by the earlier Iron Wall operation recorded?
Source registry
- map.org.uk — MAP statement: mass displacement in Hebron raises alarm over ethnic cleansing; humanitarian; date not supplied
- news.un.org — UN News: Türk warns Hebron operation raises concerns of ethnic cleansing; official_position; date not supplied
- aa.com.tr — Anadolu Agency: B'Tselem says Hebron measures are collective punishment; human_rights; date not supplied
- gov.il — Netanyahu's Hebron remarks: sealing, evacuation and the camp model; primary_document; date not supplied
- palestine.un.org — UN in Palestine: Guterres alarmed by sweeping closures after Hebron attack; official_position; date not supplied
- english.wafa.ps — WAFA: tightened Israeli measures in Hebron and nearly 4,000 displaced; official_position; date not supplied
- theguardian.com — The Guardian field report from Hebron: nearly 2,000 displaced and 'collective punishment' framing; news; date not supplied
- bbc.com — BBC Arabic: families displaced and homes demolished in Hebron during Israeli operation; news; date not supplied
- acleddata.com — ACLED commentary on the risk of wider Israeli operations after the Hebron attack; research; date not supplied
- nn.najah.edu — Hebron Governor Reports More Than 3,000 Displaced by Israeli Operation; official_position; date not supplied
- reliefweb.int — Call to Action on Ongoing Mass Forced Displacement and Collective Punishment in Hebron; human_rights; 2026-10-27
- aljazeera.com — Al Jazeera field report on movement restrictions and gates in Hebron's H2 area; news; date not supplied
- marsad.app — Marsad: Israeli raids in Hebron displace about 1,200, Palestinian official says; news; date not supplied
- timesofisrael.com — Times of Israel: IDF seals homes of Hebron checkpoint gunmen; news; date not supplied